World Sailing Routes - for the globally curious

Links - open in Google Earth - None of these Google Earth Paths are intended for navigation.




Sail Plan " The Spray"
Captain Joshua Slocum - Circa 1900

Joshua Slocum
(approximately 70,000k)

Joshua Slocum a retired sea captain, was the first person to sail single-handedly around the world. He was born in Nova Scotia, Canada but later became an American citizen. On April 24, 1895, he set sail from Boston Massachusetts and returned to Fairhaven, Massachusetts, United States on July 3, 1898, having circumnavigated the world. In 1900 he wrote "Sailing alone around the world", a book about his journey.

Artic and Antartic (approximately 41,000k)

I was originally inspired to create this sailing route from a article I read in a newspaper. The article stated that by summer 2016 or 2017 there would be enough open water to take a pleasure boat from the Pacific Ocean to the Atlantic Ocean (thru the arctic). The article went on to state that it would be done not by professional adventures but by amateur pleasure boaters. After learning more about the arctic, I thought  that I could turn this into a global circumnavigation.

Cruise Ship Circumnavigation
(approximately 82,279k)

This started out as a cruise ship itinerary in the newspaper, including a list of ports of call. I added one more leg to the trip (London to New York) to turn it into a circumnavigation.

Equator Circumnavigation
(approximately 41,000k)

A equator circumnavigation passes thru the Mediterranean, Caribbean, Arabian, Red Seas, Atlantic and Pacific Oceans, Suez and Panama Canals. The prevailing winds at the equator (trade winds) blow mainly from the east. Sail west with the wind at you back.

The links above are all Circumnavigations.
The links below are Cruising areas. Most cruising areas will view better with the "Equator Circumnavigation" also selected.

The Canadian Arctic is made up of three territories, the Yukon, Northwest Territories, and Nunavut. This cruising area will view better with the "Artic and Antartic Circumnavigation" also selected.

The Caribbean is a region that consists of the Caribbean Sea, its islands, and the surrounding coasts. The region is southeast of the Gulf of Mexico and the North American mainland, east of Central America, and north of South America.

The Galápagos (19 islands) are an archipelago of volcanic islands in the Pacific Ocean, 900k west of Ecuador. Located at the confluence of three ocean currents, the Galápagos is a ‘melting pot’ of marine species. In 1835 Charles Darwin’s wrote "On the Origin of Species" the theory of evolution"by natural selection, following his stay on the Galapagos Islands. It is now a UNESCO - World Heritage Site.

Indonesia, officially the Republic of Indonesia, is a sovereign state in Southeast Asia and Oceania. Indonesia is an archipelago comprising of thousands of islands.

The Mediterranean Sea is a sea connected to the Atlantic Ocean (at Gibraltar) and the Indian Ocean (by the Suez Canal). To the north is Southern Europe and to the south Northern Africa.

The Pacific islands includes New Zealand, the Hawaiian Islands, Rotuma, the Midway Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, the Cook Islands, Wallis and Futuna, Tokelau, Niue, French Polynesia, Easter Island and the Samoan Islands (divided between the Independent State of Samoa and American Samoa).

The Commonwealth of Australia is itself a continent, which includes the island of Tasmania, and numerous smaller islands.

The British Isles are a group of islands off the north-western coast of continental Europe that consist of the islands of Great Britain, Ireland and over six thousand smaller islands.

British Columbia is the western province of Canada on the Pacific Ocean (commonly referred as BC).

The Baltic Sea is located in Northern Europe and is bordered by Sweden, Finland, Russia, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Germany, Denmark , numerous islands and the North Atlantic Ocean.

New Zealand

Fiordland National Park, in the southwest corner of the South Island of New Zealand (on the Tasman Sea). This cruising area will view better with the " Cruise Ship Circumnavigation" also selected.

New Zealand
(North Island)

The North Island (Te lka-a-a-Maui), one of the two main islands of New Zealand, is separated from the South Island by the Cook Strait. This cruising area will view better with the " Cruise Ship Circumnavigation" also selected.

( West Coast)

Thailand (officially the Kingdom of Thailand) formerly known as Siam, is a country at the centre of the Indochina peninsula in Southeast Asia. Bordered on the west by the Andaman Sea and the east by the South China Sea.

The Canal  connects the Volga River and the Don River . The canal forms a part of the Unified Deep Water System of European Russia. It provides the most direct navigable connection between the sea of Azov and the Caspian Sea.

The San Juan Islands are an archipelago in the Straits of Juan de Fuca, Washington State, just south of the 49th parallel (border between Canada and the United States). Puget Sound is south of the San Juan Islands.

Eastern Canada
(Newfoundland to the
Great Lakes)

Eastern Canada is generally considered to be the region of Canada east of Manitoba, consisting of Ontario, Quebec, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island, Labrador and Newfoundland. The Saint Lawrence Seaway is a system of locks, canals and channels that permit ocean-going vessels to travel from the Atlantic Ocean to the Great Lakes.

Comments or Suggestions